Oklahoma Burn Ban Violations
For eighteen consecutive days, temperatures in Oklahoma have been above 100 degrees, and looking at the extended forecast, there is no relief in sight. The combination of high temperatures and lack of rain has resulted in extremely dry conditions; a typical Oklahoma summer. Most counties west of the I-35 corridor, as well as a few counties in eastern Oklahoma, have instituted a burn ban. Some may forget, or may not be aware, and some may accidentally find themselves in need of an Oklahoma criminal defense attorney.
OKLAHOMA INSTITUTES BURN BAN DUE TO HIGH TEMPS AND DRY WEATHER
Oklahoma law allows for the Governor or County Commissioner to establish a burn ban when weather conditions warrant. During a burn ban, it becomes unlawful to burn grass, crops, or trash. It also becomes illegal to build campfires, bonfires, or anything else that may start a wildfire.
County Commissioners review burn bans every 30 days. This way, citizens are able to find the most current information on their county through the Oklahoma Forestry Service website, or by contacting their local fire department. In counties that have instituted a burn ban, lighting a fire can be costly. Violating a county burn ban is a misdemeanor that carries a $500 fine and up to a year in prison. If the Governor declares a burn ban, the fine is increased to $1000.
OKLAHOMA BURN BAN VIOLATION ATTORNEYS
If you have been cited for lighting a fire during a burn ban, contact the criminal defense attorneys at Atkins and Markoff. Many people are tempted to handle misdemeanor charges on their own; however, an experienced attorney can explain your options, develop your defense, and help you avoid jail time. Our criminal defense attorneys will be happy to discuss your case with you.