Oklahoma Theft Crime Lawyer
Understanding Your Theft Charges
A theft charge is defined by Oklahoma state law as “the taking of personal property accomplished by fraud or stealth, and with the intent to deprive another thereof.” There are different types and levels of theft crimes, all of which you can find explained below.
- Petit theft
The theft of property that is valued below $500. Punishable by a fine of $10-$500 and a jail sentence of up to 6 months
- Grand theft
The theft of property worth more than $500 or the theft of property from another robbery case. This is a felony charge and is punishable by a 5 year prison sentence of fine of up to $5,000
- Robbery and armed robbery
- Car theft / carjacking
Burglary Penalties Explained
If you have been charged with burglary, it means you are accused of breaking into and entering a building with the committing a crime of theft, or even a felony. First-degree burglary is defined by a person breaking into a home or building and threatening the occupants with a deadly weapon, or using fake keys to break into the building in question. All other cases of burglary are considered second-degree and are punishable by anywhere from two to seven years in prison.
Contact AMA Law Today
If you have been charged with a theft crime on any level, contact AMA Law today to set up a free consultation. We are an Oklahoma City law firm with more than 100 years of combined experience successfully representing individuals throughout Oklahoma. Whether you have been charged with petty theft or first-degree burglary, our criminal defense attorneys will work with you to ensure you understand all aspects of your case. We will conduct a thorough investigation and develop an aggressive defense strategy that is right for you.
To get started and set up your free consultation, contact us today!