Do You Know Oklahoma’s Motorcycle Laws?
If you own a motorcycle or you’re thinking about getting one, it’s important to understand Oklahoma’s laws and licensing requirements for motorcycle riders. Riding a motorcycle inherently involves more risk for injury than driving a car or truck, but by following these laws every time you saddle up and take to the road, you can make those exhilarating rides as safe as possible.
And if the unfortunate should happen, you should contact an experienced Oklahoma motorcycle accident attorney right away.
Understanding Oklahoma’s Motorcycle Laws
In Oklahoma, you must have an “M” endorsement on your driver’s license to operate a motorcycle or other motor-driven cycle. To get this endorsement, you’ll need to appear before a driver’s license examiner, present the required documentation, and take several examinations (vision, written, driving). If you’ve completed a motorcycle education course offered by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation, the state will waive the driving exam requirement.
After passing your exams, you can request a motorcycle learner’s permit. If you get this permit, you must keep it for at least 30 days. During this time, you can operate a motorcycle only while you’re accompanied by and receiving instruction from a licensed motorcycle rider who is at least 21 years old.
If you have the proper endorsement on your license, then you’re good to go — as long as your bike and your riding habits comply with Oklahoma’s rules of the road for motorcycles. Below, we’ve compiled a quick guide that lists some of the most important legal requirements and guidelines for motorcycle riders in our state.
- Safety helmet: Required for riders under age 18 (and recommended for everyone)
- Eye protection: Required unless the motorcycle is equipped with a windshield
- Left– and right-side mirrors: Required
- Headlight use: Required at all times, day or night
- Passenger seat and footrest: Required if carrying a passenger
- Passenger age restrictions: None
- Handlebar height: Must be no higher than the eye level of the bike’s operator
- Radar detector: No restrictions
- Muffler: Bikes must have a muffler or other effective noise-suppressing system, which must be in good working order and remain in constant operation.
- Maximum sound level: Riders may not modify a motorcycle’s exhaust system in any manner which will amplify or increase the noise or sound emitted and make it louder than the noise emitted by the muffler originally installed on the vehicle.
- Helmet speakers: No restrictions
- Motorcycles operating two abreast in the same lane: Not covered by Oklahoma’s motorcycle laws
- Accepts motorcycle endorsements from other states? Yes
Oklahoma Motorcycle Law FAQs
Below, we’ve provided answers to a few commons questions that new and returning motorcycle riders often ask as they take to the roads.
- Q: Can I take a passenger on my motorcycle?
A: Yes, as long as you meet the following requirements:
- You’re at least 16 years old
- Your motorcycle has wheels that are at least 12 inches in diameter
- Your motorcycle has a double seating device with double footrests or an attached sidecar with dedicated seating space
- Q: What kind of insurance does Oklahoma require for motorcycle riders?
A: Oklahoma requires all motorcycle riders to carry liability insurance that covers at least:
- $10,000 for injury or death of one person
- $10,000 for property damage
- $20,000 for injury or death of two or more people
However, because Oklahoma is an at-fault state, which means the driver who is responsible for a crash pays the damages, we recommend that motorcycle riders carry a policy that provides significantly more coverage than the state-mandated minimums.
- Q: I see other motorcyclists pass cars by riding between them on the lane line. Is this legal?
A: No. Oklahoma law forbids motorcycle riders from passing other vehicles in this way, which is sometimes called “lane splitting.”
Even Law-Abiding Riders Can Get Hurt, and an Attorney Can Help
Following all of Oklahoma’s rules and requirements for motorcycle riders can reduce your risk of a crash, but you can’t cut out that risk entirely. Every day, safe and conscientious motorcycle riders in our state suffer injuries or even die because of other drivers’ negligent actions.
If this happens to you or someone you love, it’s important to contact an experienced motorcycle accident lawyer right away so they can start investigating the crash, preserving evidence, and protecting the victim’s rights.
You may be entitled to compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and other damages, but if you want your claim to have the best chance of success, you need to get in touch with an attorney right away.
Contact Atkins & Markoff for Help if You’ve Been Hurt in an Oklahoma Motorcycle Accident
At Atkins & Markoff, we have the resources and experience needed to handle your motorcycle injury claim. We’re ready to listen to your story and give you advice about your legal options at no cost to you. If we’re able to take your case, we’ll fight aggressively to get you justice and compensation.
If you have been seriously injured or even lost a loved one in a motorcycle wreck or other motor vehicle accident, contact Atkins & Markoff today by calling (405) 607-8757 or filling out our quick and easy online contact form. We’ll get back to you right away. Your initial consultation is free, and we handle all personal injury cases on a contingent fee basis, so you won’t pay attorney’s fees unless we get you a settlement or win your case in court.
Riding on motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, motorized scooter, bicycle, or electric-assisted bicycle. Okla. Stat. 47 § 11-1103. (2004, November 1). https://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?CiteID=82351
The content provided here is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice on any subject.