Family Law Center – Oklahoma Waiver Divorce
Many Oklahomans are not familiar with waiver divorce. A waiver divorce, also known as an uncontested divorce, is a divorce where both parties have agreed to get divorced and have also established how to settle all of the issues related to their ended relationship. They must agree on the terms of a divorce, not just the divorce itself..
Terms of a divorce or issues related to their breakup could include: division of property and assets, division of retirement assets, responsibility for liabilities like debts, child support, child custody, child visitation, etc.
For Oklahoma, in order to have an uncontested divorce, you must file a list of divorce documents and pay a filing fee. In order to file in Oklahoma County, you must pay a $950 filing fee; filing fees differ for each county.
After you file in Oklahoma, there is a 10-day waiting period if no children are involved. However, if children are involved, there is a 90-day waiting period.
Here is a partial list of Oklahoma Divorce Documents according to divorcesupport.com:
- Oklahoma Filing Instructions
- Domestic Relations Cover Sheet (Petitioner)
- Domestic Relations cover Sheet (Respondent)
- Petition for Divorce
- Automatic Temporary Injunction Notice
- Verification (for Petition for Divorce)
- Marital Settlement Agreement
- Schedule for Visitation of Minor Children
- Financial Affidavit (Petitioner)
- Financial Affidavit (Respondent)
- Child Support Schedule
- Child Support Worksheet
- Declaration Under the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act
- Entry of Appearance and Waiver of Service
- Notice of Final Hearing
- Decree of Divorce
- A few of these forms can be obtained from your county clerks office or you can obtain all of the forms from an attorney.
You can file these documents yourself, but it is recommended to use a family law attorney. Our family law attorneys at Atkins and Markoff can help with a waiver divorce for our great state of Oklahoma.